Following the collapse of the Soviet Union, China moved quickly to initiate boundary negotiations with the three newly independent states of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Tajikistan. Settlements were achieved within a few years except in the case of Tajikistan due to the unsettled political situation in Tajikistan and the complicated settlement of the Pamir region, but this boundary was eventually settled, too.

Additional Resources